Have you ever considered owning a handgun? Do you know we have Handgun Safety Classes at Bass Pro Shop? The only accepted courses are those endorsed by the Central New York Police Academy Onondaga County. Registering can be done two ways. You may register by calling 315-498-6046 or by website at www.sunyocc.edu.
Here are a few questions that are commonly asked in Cayuga County.
What is the basic criteria for apply for a permit?
You must be:
1. At least 21 years of age.
2. Reside in Cayuga County.
3. Provide proof of residency by submitting a valid NYS driver's license.
4. Pass a background check. The background check includes a criminal record check by the State of New York, the FBI, the Nation Crime Information Center, the Cayuga County Sheriff's Office, other law enforcement agencies, and the Department of Mental Health.
5. Submit two non-refundable processing fees to cover the costs with fingerprinting, photographs, and background checks.
6. You must have successfully completed an approved handgun safety course and need to submit an original certificate prior to the issuance of a permit.
How Do I Apply For A Permit?
Obtain an application packet and, follow the instructions on the cover sheet.
Have the application notarized prior to submitting your application.
Provide a valid NYS driver's license or military photo identification.
Submit processing fees.
Submit an original accepted handgun safety certificate.
Application processing is conducted only by appointment by calling the Special Services Section at 315-253-4148.
A set of fingerprint and photographs will be taken at the time your application is submitted.
What are the required fees of a new permit application?
Two separate fees are required at the time the application is submitted:
A $20.00 fee payable only by either cash or money order made out to the Cayuga County Seriff.
A $91.50 fee made payable by money order to the Cayuga County Sheriff
No personal checks accepted.
What types of criminal arrests/offenses must I disclose?
You must disclose ALL arrests for offenses of the law, even if the charges were dismissed or if the criminal record has been sealed. This includes DWI/DWAI charges, with the exception of minor traffic infractions.
Failure to disclose any criminal offense will deny the application and may lead to criminal charges.
How long does the permit process take?
The process usually is 3 months after all requirements are met.
What types of pistol permits can I apply for?
Carry Concealed: The applicant must be able to demonstrate a special need for a carry concealed. They must fill out a "proper cause" supplemental form also.
Possess On Premise: Have and possess in a dwelling by a homeowner ONLY or have and possess in one place of business by a merchant or storekeeper ONLY. This is NOT a carry license and restricts handguns to the dwelling address or place of business.
Carry Concealed/Employment: Applicants must have a letter from their employer stating why they need to carry during their duties on the job.
Where is my permit/license valid?
This is according to NYS Penal Law Article 400.00 which you can look up online, found in a library, or a bookstore.
A license to carry or possess a pistol or revolver, not otherwise limited as to place or time of possession, shall be effective throughout the state. The exception to this is it is not valid within the City of New York unless a special permit granting validity is issued by the police commisioner of that city.
The contact number for anyone that has additional questions is the Special Services section at 315-253-4148 or the Records Division at 315-253-1148.
Additional questions and more indepth information is on the Cayuga County Sheriff's Office website.